I am a realtor who in the past did social work. I recently helped my best friend purchase a home. She will be moving cross country. The positive, she will be close to me. The negative, the move and selling her home.

Moving is no fun. No one likes to move. Packing all that crap you have gathered during the years. No one wants to pack all that crap. So what do you do with the crap? Do you donate it?  Do you keep it? Do you give it to your kids? Anxiety about all your crap keeping you up at night! What the hell! Should we rent a truck? Should we have movers? Should we get a POD? What the hell is a POD and how big is a POD? I think of a POD and I think of some alien movie and PODS are what baby aliens are born from.

Also, when you sell the house you are moving from and the buyers agent wants to come over with the buyers every day to see their new house! Why? They’re going to own the mother f******* thing in 30 days! I personally think a KEEP OUT unless you are an appraiser or inspector, sign should be hung on the front door as soon as you sign the contract. Just say, NO! No you can’t show your mother in law your new bedroom. Or bring the kids over to play in the new yard. Why? Because we are not cleared to close! It isn’t your home yet!

If you have ever sold a home you know the chaos that is involved. There are papers to be signed. There are inspections, appraisals, showings, open houses, repairs, contingencies, escrow, insurance and a multitude of other things that need to be completed.

I am a realtor in Missouri. Let me say that we seem to have a really good grasp on keeping things on the up and up and making sure our clients are well taken care of. We do not leave it up to the seller to make the showing appointments. We don’t harass the seller once our buyer has an accepted agreement.  Making sure the seller and the buyer are happy with the end result is the most important part of the process.

So when my friend asked me to help her find a home out here in Missouri I was so excited! Not only was I going to be able to show her the hospitality of the Midwest, she was going to be closer to me. In this process I referred her to a realtor in California to sell her home. I had assumed that we all worked the same way. We all wanted the best for our clients. Well, let me just say, it is cut throat in California, realtors playing buyers against each other, buying agents calling the sellers to harass them until they feel so crazy they just give in. Buying agents have no reason to call the seller of the home, that’s what the listing agent is for! The seller pays the listing agent for a reason. All of this makes me happy to be an agent in Missouri. So far I haven’t run in to any of this type of nonsense.

I feel sad for my friend. She is living in hell right now. The buying agent has no respect of others time, space or emotions. It’s a total mess, but I can say that it will end. She will be here in Missouri and I will be certain that the buying process here is much less stressful and they won’t have to worry about anyone harassing them on the phone or making them feel guilty. This is how I treat all of my clients. Giving my best to them means that they will remember the great treatment they get and if they need help in the future with real estate they won’t hesitate to call me.

Buying and selling a home is emotional. People are attached to their home, a place where you raised your babies and made memories with your extended family. This is why real estate agents should have empathy yet be able to differentiate what is necessary to get the job done.

For all you overbearing, rude, mean, unthoughtful Realtors out there, remember these are people not transactions. They feel, they need and they appreciate. Give what is good for them and you’ll get it in return.

As you can see, I am a combination of Realtor/Social Worker. I want the process to be smooth and not overly stressful for my clients. I feel, I see and I know what they need.

Moving sucks, but the end result will be worth it.  Breathe in slowly and out slowly and feel the anxiety leave your body, oh and remember crap is just crap, let it go ๐Ÿ™‚

 

One thought on “Realtor vs. Social Worker

Leave a Reply

