It’s my birthday.  A day which I have decided isn’t as important to me as it is to others around me. I appreciate the well wishes and smiles. I like the idea of comradery and wine drinking. But what is a birthday really about?

It’s the day your mom births you. A day where she endured the most physical pain she will ever endure, followed by the most emotional happiness she will ever feel. It’s the day when people gather round a little baby, happy for the new mom and dad’s upcoming adventure.

Every day after your birth, your mom and dad teach you right from wrong, they love you though the skinned knee’s, take care of you when you are sick. You mom buys you new pajamas when you have your appendix out, then your gallbladder, then your uterus. She is there for you when you get married and have your own babies.

On this day, I miss that woman, the one who called me at 10:26 AM every year to wish me happy birthday. The woman who kissed me every time I left the house even as an adult.

Really this is her day, because without her I wouldn’t be who I am today. Happy Birth Day Mom! I miss you!

On your birthday remember to wish your mom a Happy Birth Day and thank her!

 

thUNAP681A

Leave a Reply

